Uncategorized

The Book(ish) Box : June 2018 Review

*SUMMER OF MAGIC*

My first box of the month has arrived!!!!! I have been checking my inbox all week for the tracking number and on Saturday it finally arrived! I got the date of delivery June 18th by 8pm and guess what! It arrived at 7:34pm! I actually skipped to the mailbox… my neighbors now think I’m insane. Oh well. I did it for the book box.

All right lets get to it! The first thing I saw when I opened up the box was a “Spoiler Card” This card pretty much just tells you everything in the box before you even get to anything. You get it. Right?

The June Box Included:

1. Enamel pin: Inspired by Raven Boys by Dust & Pages

2. Pin Board: Inspired by Throne of Glass by Hello World Paper Co.

3. Window Crystal Decals: Rainbow Symphony

4. Black Cat Magic Phone Ring: The Bookish Shop

5: Gemstone Sticky Note Pads: The Bookish Shop

6: Monthly Theme Doodle: Doodles By Christina

7. July Calendar: Hey Atlas Creative

Optional Box Upgrades

Shirt: Guest Designer Stellas Bookish Art created a shirt inspired by Harry Potter

YA Book: Summer of Salt by Katrina Leno

Adult Book: Providence by Caroline Kepnes

*I chose the shirt and YA Book Upgrade*

Alright you guys… I’m gonna be completely honest here. I thought the Black Cat Magic Phone Ring was actually a bottle opener and I was very and I mean very excited… I was wrong and actually kinda sad about it…

Moving on…

Alright getting down to business lets go over my thoughts on what came in the box:

The enamel pin is GORGEOUS! I am obsessed with it; it’s absolutely on point with the theme of Summer Magic. It is already sitting pretty on the Throne of Glass pin board provided! I cannot wait to add more pins to it!

The Window Crystal Decals on the other hand are to me kinda eh… I’m not a huge crystal fan and was not super excited about them, same with the Gemstone Sticky Note Pad… I actually thought it was a tree stump.. But that probably my bad… like I said I am not knowledgeable about crystals or gemstones (except Sapphires cause you know September babies rock)

The theme doodle is stunning! I can’t wait to go all 3rd grade and color it in! The July calendar is cool too but at the same time I almost didn’t realize it was a calendar and almost skipped over it.

ON TO THE SHIRT! THE SHIRT OMG IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!

I grew up reading Harry Potter so I was all over it! It also was the universe telling me to attend the Harry Potter Conventions that apparently is happening somewhere around where I live (Literally had no idea until my dad called and said he wanted to go).

And now the important part of this box…. THE BOOK!

Summer of Salt by Katrina Leno“Georgina Fernweh waits impatiently for the tingle of magic in her fingers—magic that has touched every woman in her family. But with her eighteenth birthday looming at the end of this summer, Georgina fears her gift will never come.

Over the course of her last summer on the island—a summer of storms, falling in love, and the mystery behind one rare three-hundred-year-old bird—Georgina will learn the truth about magic, in all its many forms.”

I’m kinda iffy on this book. I am not really into LGBTQ story lines because it’s just not something that interests me so this might sit on my shelf for awhile… I actually had zero idea that’s what this book was about until I started reading other people’s reviews on GoodReads so I’m glad I did that. I am still going to read this book but hey that’s why I subscribed to a book box subscription to be shown something new.

The question really is though… will I resubscribe to this service… The answer is probably no. Not because I didn’t enjoy this box but because I am subscribed to SO many next month and want to see which ones I enjoy the most to spend my $$$ on. But, trust me this was such a hard decision and I will tell you why; Because the next box (July) Includes a TUMBLER! I am obsessed with Tumblers well actually any type of cup that has stuff on it… I’m weird sue me.

July Box Theme: “Into the Forest”

https://thebookishbox.cratejoy.com

1 thought on “The Book(ish) Box : June 2018 Review”

Leave a comment